Really Easy Homemade Fritos

Simple Homemade Fritos. Recipe at cafelisa.wordpress.com.

Corn chips from scratch? It’s simple, I tell you. Five ingredients, 20 minutes. Awesome.

Serves 2
2/3 cup masaca (corn flour)
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. chili powder
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 to 2/3 cup water

Mix ingredients by hand, starting with 1/2 cup water, adding more water if needed if dough feels is too crumbly to handle.

Take half the dough, place inside a silicone baking mat or between two layers of cling wrap and roll out about 1/8″ thick. Transfer to a cutting board. Slice into 1×2″ rectangles using a pizza cutter. Repeat with remaining dough.

The Really Delicious Method
Cook at 375 for 10-15 minutes until crunchy. Sprinkle with salt, cool and serve.

The FREAKING Delicious Method
Working in batches, fry in 350 degree oil for 30 seconds. Drain and sprinkle with a tiny bit more kosher salt before serving.

7 Comments »

  1. […] I already had the frying oil out from last night’s homemade corn chips, I decided to go for broke and try onion rings. Just like the corn chips, these are five […]

  2. mavrith said

    I can’t wait to try these, it looks so yummy. Thanks for posting this.

    • Lisa said

      Let me know how it goes! I haven’t played with the recipe since I first posted it and am always open to tweaks.

  3. LG said

    Question: your first ‘delicious’ method merely says ‘cook at 375’.. but no other details. Do you use a greased baking sheet? ungreased? Did you line your sheet with parchment or foil? Just wanted to see what method was successful for you.

    • Lisa said

      Thanks for your comment. I use a pizza stone which doesn’t need greasing. For other baking dishes I’d lightly oil it first.

  4. Mike said

    I’m really serious about making these …and I noticed you said that you were open to tweaks. So, here goes:
    1. Question: your fritos look deelish but are they “pillows?” Real fritos are so dense. Are some of yours like that?
    2. Question: does masaca usually require cooking before use?
    3. Real fritos are extruded …what do you think would happen if you squeezed the dough/batter through a pastry bag, or something similar, directly into the hot oil?

    • Lisa said

      Hi Mike! Thanks for your comment. By way of explanation, I’m just a home cook who one day decided to make my personal recipes public. For some reason this three-year-old post for homemade Fritos really took off and gets about 2,000 views per year! I’m by no means an expert, but I’ll try:

      1. The fried one are dense with a little puff, like in the picture. I actually prefer them this way for a different flavor texture. The baked ones didn’t puff.
      2. I don’t cook masaca before cooking. It’s essentially corn flour and might behave like wheat flour does if you were to cook it first.
      3. Interesting thought about squeezing directly into oil! I am going to guess that it wouldn’t make any remarkable difference. It may save time from rolling and slicing, though!

      Happy cooking! Let me know how it goes.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

